Production Company: Summit Entertainment, Mystery Clock Cinema, TJK Films, Thunder Road Pictures, Pyramania
Distributors: Lionsgate
Release date (USA): 24 February 2016

Director: Alex Proyas
Screenplay: Matt Sazama & Burk Sharpless

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Marcus Trumpp & Brandon Roberts
Orchestra Conducted by Pete Anthony
Performed by Sydney Scoring Orchestra
Orchestrated by Pete Anthony, Marcus Trumpp, Jeff Atmajian, Rossano Galante, Mark Graham, Jon Kull, Dana Niu, Vincent Oppido, Brad Dechter, Kevin Kaska, Mike Watts & Edward Rybek
Recorded and Mixed by John Kurlander
Recorded at Trackdown Scoring Stage, Sydney, Australia
Assistant Engineers Tyson Lozensky & Evan McHugh
Music Editor Tim Ryan. Jason Fernandez & Jim Schultz
Electroacoustic Design by Buck Sanders
Orchestra Contracted by Alex Henery & Jasper Randall
Choir Contracted by Alison Johnston & Jasper Randall
Music Preparation Mark Graham, Jonathan Bartz, Luke Flynn, Riley Hughes & Andrew Rowan

Music Produced by Buck Sanders

Synopsis: Set, the merciless god of darkness, has taken over the throne of Egypt and plunged the once peaceful and prosperous empire into chaos and conflict. Few dare to rebel against him. A young thief, whose love was taken captive by the god, seeks to dethrone and defeat Set with the aid of the powerful god Horus.


The magnitude of score is beyond anything I have done before. This two and half hour score is the biggest film score project I have ever undertaken, after all these years that it saying something. Just mixing it took over a month but it was all worth it as it is really fun to stretch my wings a bit. The director Alex Proyas and I did some great research together to create the right sound. We watched some of the great films that reflected the area and sensibility we are going for (such as Raiders of the Lost Ark, Black Narcissus and Lawrence of Arabia) together as these were influences of his for the film and wanted the music to perform a similar thematic function. After that I did my best to deliver.

V A R E S E   S A R A B A N D E  (030206740189)

01. Gods of Egypt Prologue (2:41)
02. Bek and Zaya (0:44)
03. Market Chase (0:30)
04. Coronation (2:26)
05. All Quiet on Set (0:41)
06. Set vs. Horus (3:40)
07. Hathor’s Bedroom (3:42)
08. Bek Steals the Eye (4:08)
09. Shot through the Heart (3:01)
10. Underdog (1:25)
11. Red Army (1:40)
12. Wings and a Prayer (3:01)
13. Osiris’ Garden (1:29)
14. Snakes on a Plain (3:12)
15. Toth’s Library (3:27)
16. Straight out of Egypt (2:28)
17. Channeling Zaya (2:29)
18. Return of the Mistress of the West (2:28)
19. Chaos (3:42)
20. Set Confronts Ra (3:29)
21. Elevator Music (3:06)
22. Obelisk Fight Part 1 (4:12)

23. Obelisk Fight Part 2 (3:32) PDF
24. God of the Impossible (5:39)
25. Bek and Zaya’s Theme (4:37)
26. Hathor’s Theme (3:35)
Release date: 25 March 2016
Total Time: 75:04
Length of the Score: 158 minutes
Purchase links: Varese SarabandeScreen Archives, Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon DEiTunes





Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.