Production Company: Hammer Films, Aliance Films, UK Film Council, Cross Creek Pictures, Filmgate Films & Talisman Productions
Distributors: CBS Films & Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
Release date (USA): 3 February 2012

Director: James Watkins
Screenplay: Jane Goldman
Based on the Novel by Susan Hill

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Marcus Trumpp & Brandon Roberts
Recorded and Mixed by John Kurlander
Assistant Engineer Tyson Lozensky
Music Editor John Warhurst & Tony Lewis
Music Preparation Jason Seigel

Music Produced by Marco Beltrami & Buck Sanders

Synopsis: In London, solicitor Arthur Kipps still grieves the death of his beloved wife Stella on the delivery of their son Joseph four years ago. His employer gives him a last chance to keep his job, and he is assigned to travel to the remote village of Cryphin Gifford to examine the documentation of the Eel Marsh House that belonged to the recently deceased Mrs. Drablow. Arthur befriends Daily on the train and the man offers a ride to him to the Gifford Arms inn. Arthur has a cold reception and the owner of the inn tells that he did not receive the request of reservation and there is no available room. The next morning, Arthur meets solicitor Jerome who advises him to return to London. However, Arthur goes to the isolated manor and soon he finds that Eel Marsh House is haunted by the vengeful ghost of a woman dressed in black. He also learns that the woman lost her son drowned in the marsh and she seeks revenge, taking the children of the scared locals.

S I L V A    S C R E E N    R E C O R D S   (SILCD-1378)

01. Tea for Three Plus One (1:40)
02. The Woman in Black (1:56)
03. Crossing the Causeway (2:24)
04. Bills Past Due (1:21)
05. Voices in the Mist (2:00)
06. Journey North (2:56)
07. Cellar Eye (2:48)
08. First Death (2:00)
09. The Attic Room (1:56)
10. The Door Opens (1:45)
11. Fireside (2:30)
12. You Could Have Saved Him (2:57)
13. Crazy Writing (2:15)
14. In the Graveyard (2:56)
15. Elisabeth’s Vision (3:39)
16. Into the Fire (3:57)
17. Jennet’s Letters (2:12)
18. Race to the Marsh (2:11)
19. Rising from the Mud (3:12)
20. Summoning the Woman in Black (4:26)
21. Reunion (1:41)
22. Arthur’s Theme (2:46)  

Release date: 12 March 2012
Total Time: 55:28
Length of the Score: 75 minutes


Purchase links: Screen Archives, Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, iTunes




Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.