Production Company: Enticing Entertainment, Island Film Group, Brookwell-McNamara Productions, Life's a Beach Entertainment
Distributors: TriStar Pictures & Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
Release date (USA): 8 April 2011

Director: Sean McNamara
Screenplay: Sean McNamara, Deborah Schwartz, Douglas Schwartz & Michael Berk
Based on the Book by Bethany Hamilton, Sheryl Berk & Rick Bundschuh

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Marcus Trumpp
Orchestra Conducted by Marco Beltrami
Performed by The Hollywood Studio Symphony
Orchestrated by Marcus Trumpp
Recorded and Mixed by John Kurlander
Recorded at Pianella Studios, Malibu, CA
Assistant Engineers Jorge Velasco
Music Editor Jim Schultz
Vocal Contractor and Conductor Tim Davies
Music Preparation Victor Pesavento

Music Produced by Buck Sanders

Synopsis: 13 year-old Bethany Hamilton is a champion surfer who was born to be in the water. But after a fun night out night surfing and what should be a fun day in the water, she is attacked by a shark and loses her arm. Rushed to the hospital, she remains calm, and maintains her faith in God. Now she has to re-learn how to do everything with only one arm - including how to surf. It will take her friends, family, and her Christian faith to get her back into the water, but if that is where she is meant to be, she will find a way to get there.


For me it is refreshing to sort of move around stylistically and working on different genres. This is much more of a family film, inspirational, motivational movie and lot more tonal. I relied heavily on indigenous hawaiian music as inspiration. When I first saw the movie, ít's really about this girl that is brought up in Hawaii. She's Hawaiian, Hawaiian parents and she's a surfer there. The movie shot in Hawaii for most of it, except little part where she goes to Thailand. But even there she brings the spirit of Hawaii with her. The one thing that I picked up on first time seeing the movie was that the temp music they had didn't reflect any of this spirit of Hawaii. If I could do anything as a composer it would be to ingrain some of that into the film. Because I think that would give it the dimension that it needed. So it turned out we just built the studio and the fire captain at the station down below, his wife actually taught Hulu. They had whole collection of musicians that we first listened to, we had some CDs that I listened to of just really traditional chants that had been around for a long time. That was when I started thinking "Wow, it would be so cool to incorporate this into the movie." I had him come up and bring some of the hawaiian percussionists and chanters and met some really great people and really learnt a lot about the hawaiian musical culture. Again, that's the best kind of project for me, where I am learning as I go.



M A D I S O N   G A T E   R E C O R D S   (043396348196)

01. Main Titles (2:36)
02. Turtle Bay Surfing (2:!2)
03. Fireworks (0:35)
04. Shark Attack (6:22)
05. Alana Visits Bethany (1:20)
06. Homecoming (2:01)
07. Dark Day (3:40)
08. Back in the Water (2:39)
09. Trying to Get Out (2:06)
10. Bethany and Dad (2:22)
11. Phuket (1:22)
12. Half Pint Boards (2:55)
13. Hymn for Bethany (2:27)
14. Welcome to the Nationals (1:31)
15. Big Drum Competition (3:10)
16. Paddle Battle (2:00)
17. Bethany's Wave (3:28)
18. Awards (2:00)
19. Bethany Gives Thanks (1:24)  

Release date: 20 April 2011
Total Time: 45:46
Length of the Score: 60 minutes


Purchase links: Amazon US (CD-R), Amazon UK (CD-R), iTunes




Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.