SCREAM  (1996)
Production Company: Dimension Films, Woods Entertainment
Distributors: Dimension Films & Dimension Home Video, Lionsgate Home Entertainment
Release date (USA): 20 December 1996

Director: Wes Craven
Screenplay: Kevin Williamson

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Christophe Beck
Orchestra Conducted by Marco Beltrami
Performed by The Hollywood Studio Symphony
Vocal Solos Performed by Rose Thomson
Orchestrated by Pete Anthony, Bill Boston, Marco Beltrami & Kevin Manthei
Recorded and Mixed by Tim Boyle
Recorded at The Eastwood Scoring Stage, Warner Bros. Studios, Los Angeles, CA
Music Editor E. Gedney Webb
Orchestra Contracted by Ken Watson
Music Preparation Julian Bratolyubov

Music Produced by Marco Beltrami

Synopsis: A year after her mother's death, Sydney Prescott (Neve Campbell), and her friends started experiencing some strange phone calls. They later learned the calls were coming from a crazed serial killer, in a white faced mask and a large black robe, looking for revenge. His phone calls usually consist of many questions, the main one being: Whats your favorite scary movie? Along with many scary movie trivia, ending with bloody pieces of innocent lives scattered around the small town of Woodsboro.


The Land's End CD had just come out and two guys by the names of Peter Kelly and Chris Probst were both involved here. I had lunch with Peter where he was talking about the Land's End CD. The next day Wes Craven's office, who had been interviewing composers, had not found what Wes was looking for. Out of desperation he had his assistant Julie call up Hollywood On Line, this Movietunes thing. This is where I'm not sure, wheter Julie called Chris because she knew him or she called Peter directly. The fact that I had lunch with Peter the day before and he'd heard an old score of mine called The Bicyclist, which he really loved, led him to recommend to them that they listen to my work. I got a call from Julie and she asked me to send them a CD or tape. I put together some music and the next thing I knew Wes loved it and asked to meet with me. I had an interview with him and he asked me all kinds of questions about my music and what I'd been doing, we seemed to be in sync. He showed me a little bit of the movie and asked me to score the first scene where Drew Barrymore gets killed. We had a meeting on Friday afternoon and he said "We're having a screening and we'd like you to write something for this scene". It was a cue that is thirteen and a half minutes long that I had to do. They wanted it on Sunday so they could cut it in for Monday. So I said "Okay" and I was nervous as hell, but I went home and wrote the scene, gave it to Patick the editor, he cut it in, and Wes heard it. I was sitting there when Wes heard it and I was so nervous, but he loved it and they sent it to New York and the Weinsteins heard it and loved it. The rest is history. I got the job and it worked out great.

V A R E S E   S A R A B A N D E  (VCL-1120)

01. Dimension Logo (0:19)
02. The Cue from Hell (10:32)
03. Trouble in Woodsboro (1:57)
04. Sid’s House (1:12)
05. Red Herring (2:17)
06. Killer Calls Sidney (2:57)
07. Chasing Sidney (1:29)
08. Cell Phone (1:01)
09. Backdoor Gail (0:49)
10. Schoolyard 2 (1:16)
11. Sid’s Doubt (1:27)
12. Bathroom (3:03)
13. Mr. Himbry Gets it (2:15)
14. Sheriff and Dewey (1:25)
15. Tatum’s Torture (3:02)
16. Sidney Wants it (3:11)
17. Dewey and Gail (1:56)
18. Off to See Himbry (0:47)
19. Killer Stabs Billy (2:49)
20. Randy Almost Gets it (Christophe Beck) (2:37)
21. Gail Crashes the Van (1:48)
22. They’re Crazy (9:49)

23. Sid Stabs Billy (4:26)
24. Billy’s Back (1:15)
25. End Credits (1:45)

Release date: 6 June 2011
Total Time: 63:44
Length of the Score: 75 minutes

Purchase links: Amazon US, Movie Music

V A R E S E   S A R A B A N D E  (LP, 030206595956)

01. Sidney’s Lament (1:37) PDF
02. Altered Ego (2:47)
03. Trouble in Woodsboro (1:49)
04. A Cruel World (1:53)
05. Chasing Sidney (1:27)
06. NC-17 (3:03)

01. Stage Fright Requiem (2:07)
02. Love Turns Sour (4:44)
03. Cici Creepies (1:13)
04. Deputy for a Friend (2:17)
05. Hollow Parting (1:47)
06. Dewpoint and Stabbed (2:15)
07. Hairtrigger Lunatic (1:11)
08. Sundown Search (0:50)
09. It’s Over, Sid (0:46)

Release date: 16 September 2016
Total Time: 29:59

Purchase links: Amazon US, Varese Sarabande

V A R E S E   S A R A B A N D E  (VSD-5959)

01. Sidney's Lament (1:37) PDF
02. Altered Ego (2:47)
03. Trouble in Woodsboro (1:49)
04. Cruel World (1:53)
05. Chasing Sidney (1:27)
06. NC-17 (3:03)
07. Stage Fright Requiem (2:07)
08. Love Turns Sour (4:44)
09. Cici Creepies (1:13)
10. Deputy for a Friend (2:17)
11. Hollow Parting (1:47)
12. Dewpoint and Stabbed (2:15)
13. Hairtrigger Lunatic (1:11)
14. Sundown Search (0:50)
15. It's Over, Sid (0:46)

Release date: 14 July 1998
Total Time: 30:00


Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, Movie Music, iTunes

T V T     R E C O R D S   (TVT 8080-2)

01. Youth of America (Birdbrain) (3:02)
02. Whisper (Catherine) (3:12)
03. Red Right Hand (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds) (6:11)
04. Don't Fear the Reaper (Gus) (4:47)
05. Artificial World (Interdimensional Mix) (Julee Cruise with The Flow) (5:08)
06. Better than Me (Sister Machine Gun) (4:02)
07. Whisper to a Scream (Birds Fly) (SoHo) (5:12)
08. First Cool Hive (Moby) (5:15)
09. Bitter Pill (The Connells) (3:41)
10. School's Out (The Last Hard Men) (2:17)

11. Trouble in Woodsboro / Sidney's Lament (3:26) PDF

Release date: 17 December 1996
Total Time: 46:13 (3:26)

Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK





Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.