MIMIC  (1997)
Production Company: Dimension Films, Miramax
Distributors: Dimension Films & Dimension Home Video, Lionsgate Home Entertainment
Release date (USA): 22 August 1997

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Screenplay: Guillermo del Toro
Based on the Short Story by Donald A. Wollheim

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Orchestra Conducted by Marco Betlrami
Performed by The Skywalker Symphony Orchestra
Orchestrated by Pete Anthony, Bill Boston & Marco Beltrami
Recorded and Mixed by John Kurlander
Recorded at The Skywalker Sound
Music Editor Stuart Goetz, Tommy Lockett & Chris McGeary
Music Preparation Julian Bratolyubov
& Benoit Grey
Music Produced by Marco Beltrami

Synopsis: A disease carried by common cockroaches is killing Manhattan children. In an effort to stop the epidemic an entomologist, Susan Tyler, creates a mutant breed of insect that secretes a fluid to kill the roaches. This mutant breed was engineered to die after one generation, but three years later Susan finds out that the species has survived and evolved into a large, gruesome monster that can mimic human form.


Mimic was another Miramax movie and the Weinsteins are involved in all their projects. Scream did a great job at the box office and the editor of Scream also went on to do Mimic. He cut a lot of the music from Scream into Mimic and they liked it. Director Guillermo del Toro had some Spanish composer he wanted to use at first, but as he heard more and more of my music he became convinced that I was the guy. I met with him up at Toronto where they were shooting. Then I wrote some music for their numerous temps and test screenings that they had. After this it became apparent that I should do the movie.

V A R E S E   S A R A B A N D E  (VCL-1126)

01. Main Titles (2:37) PDF
02. Children’s Hospital (1:26)
03. Release the Judas (2:24)
04. Press Conference (1:48)
05. Bathtub (0:49)
06. Priest Dies (3:18)
07. Investigation Begins (0:45)
08. Dark Angels (1:00)
09. Problems in the Lab (5:17)
10. Funny Shoes (1:11)
11. Delancey St. Station (1:15)
12. Locker Room (2:28)
13. Susan Meets Chuy (1:08)
14. Goodbye Boys (2:33)
15. Susan & Dr. Gates (1:12)
16. Chuy Steps Out (3:15)
17. Pregnancy Test (2:52)
18. Manny’s Search (1:48)
19. Manny’s Underground (1:04)
20. Susan Joins the Photos (0:51)
21. Mimic Snatches Susan (1:22)
22. Scaffolding Falls (1:24)

23. Alone in Den (3:04)
24. Chased by a Bug (1:17)
25. Josh Bites it (4:19)
26. Race to the Subway (2:56)
27. Mimics 101 (1:21)
28. I’ll Go (1:01)
29. Fleeing Terror (4:48) PDF
30. Bug Killer (1:24)
31. Reunited (2:50)
32. End Credits (2:00) PDF
33. Slow Tango (2:17)
34. Manny’s Tango (2:01)
Release date: 24 October 2011
Total Time: 72:45
Length of the Score: 89 minutes

Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK, Movie Music
V A R E S E   S A R A B A N D E  (VSD-5863)

01. Main Title (2:51) PDF
02. Race to the Subway (1:38)
03. Time to Separate (0:58)
04. Chuy Steps Out (3:20)
05. Manny Searches for His Son (1:51)
06. Slow Tango (2:15)
07. Chased by a Bug (1:16)
08. Susan Meets Chuy (1:05)
09. Faulty Scaffolding (1:22)
10. Manny's Tango (1:56)
11. Evil Among Us (1:10)
12. Confronting Terror (2:18)
13. The Lucistic's Alive (1:28)
14. Reunited (2:51)
15. End Credits (2:01) PDF
16. La Cucaracha (Dillon Dixon) (3:35)

Release date: 26 August 1997
Total Time: 32:03



Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, Movie Music, iTunes




Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.