Production Company: Paramount Pictures, 21 Laps Entertainment, Entertainment One, MTV Films
Distributors: Paramount Pictures & Entertainment One
Release date (USA): 16 October 2020

Director: Michael Matthews
Screenplay: Matthew Robinson & Brian Duffield

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami & Marcus Trumpp
Additional Music by Buck Sanders
Orchestra Conducted by Folko Jungnitsch
Performed by The Slovak National Symphony Orchestra
Orchestrated by Rossano Galante
Recorded by Peter Fuchs

Recorded at The Slovak Radio Concert Hall, Bratislava, Slovakia
Mixed by Tyson Lozensky
Mixed at Pianella Studios, Malibu, CA
Assistant Engineers Martin Roller
Music Editor Daniel Waldman, Nicholas Fitzgerald, Del Spiva, Jay Duerr & Susan Ham
Orchestra Contracted by Paul Talkington
Music Preparation Tilo M. Heinrich & Marián Turner
Music Produced by Marco Beltrami & Marcus Trumpp

Synopsis: Seven years after the Monsterpocalypse, Joel Dawson (Dylan O'Brien), along with the rest of humanity, has been living underground ever since giant creatures took control of the land. After reconnecting over radio with his high school girlfriend Aimee (Jessica Henwick), who is now 80 miles away at a coastal colony, Joel begins to fall for her again. As Joel realizes that there's nothing left for him underground, he decides against all logic to venture out to Aimee, despite all the dangerous monsters that stand in his way.


Even though LOVE AND MONSTERS draws inspiration from those larger-than-life classics from the '50s and '60s, Michael (Matthews) and Dan's (Cohen) unique vision of that world called for a hybrid approach to the score, where that epic, gothic orchestral sound had to go hand in hand with a more contemporary, modern-day one. The good thing was that their infectious enthusiasm and love for the genre inspired us to experiment with different concepts, and they loved the idea of a thematic approach rather than just rellying on atmospheric effects and sound design. All these musical opportunities made this project extremely fun to work on. The encouragement of Michael and Dan, the amazing performance by our orchestra under the direction of Folko Jungnitsch, and the brilliance of our collaborator Buck Sanders makes this score stand out for us, and we hope you'll have as much fun listening to it as we had writing it. And who knows? Maybe it can encourage us to exit our own vaults and return back to the surface very soon as well.

MONSTER PROBLEMS: Recording Sessions
Bratislava Radio Concert Hall, Slovakia (January 2020)


P A R A M O U N T   M U S I C    /   Q U A R T E T   R E C O R D S   (QR429)

01. Prologue (2:28)
02. Bunker Breach (1:00)
03. Joel Freezes (1:28)
04. Thinking of Aimee (1:16)
05. I Wanna Go (1:20)
06. Opening the Hatch (1:10)
07. Joel Starts His Journey (1:31)
08. Pool Frog (1:46)
09. Clyde and Minnow (1:15)
10. Boulder Snail (2:04)
11. Wisdom of the Wild (1:44)
12. Parting Ways (2:27)
13. The Siren Encounter (2:57)
14. Remembering Mother (1:30)
15. Land Shark (3:38)
16. Joel’s Poison Berry Trip (2:23)
17. Aimee’s Colony (1:16)
18. Cap’s Trap (0:46)
19. Waking the Apocalypse (1:42)
20. Fighting the Crab (2:22)
21. You’re Free (4:01)
22. Reunited (1:49)

23. Return to the Surface (2:25)
24. End Credits (2:13)
Release date (CD): 30 October 2020
Release date (iTunes): 16 October 2020
Total Time: 46:31
Length of the Score: 60 minutes

Purchase links: Quartet Records, Intrada (US), Music Box (FR), Amazon MP3, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, Amazon FR, iTunes




Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.