THE GIVER  (2014)
Production Company: The Weinstein Company, Walden Media, Tonik Productions, Asis Productions
Distributors: The Weinstein Company & Anchor Bay Entertainment
Release date (USA): 15 August 2014

Director: Phillip Noyce
Screenplay: Michael Mitnick & Robert B. Weide
Based on the Book by Lois Lowry

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Brandon Roberts & Wlad Marhulets
Orchestra Conducted by Marco Beltrami
Performed by The Skywalker Symphony Orchestra
Orchestrated by Wlad Marhulets, Jordan Seigel & Tomasz Opalka
Recorded and Mixed by Leslie Ann Jones
Recorded at Skywalker Sound Studios, Marin County, CA
Assistant Engineers Tyson Lozensky & Jay Duerr
Music Editor Suzana Peric
Music Produced by Marco Beltrami & Buck Sanders

Synopsis: After The Ruin, a civil but colorless, drug-dampened, equalitarian society eschewing memories of the past emerged, where everyone followed established rules of politeness enforced by a council of ever-watchful Elders. On the ceremonious day of graduation, teenagers leaving childhood are assigned careers chosen by the Elders. Jonas, who feels different from his appointed parents and his two best friends, Fiona and Asher, finds himself assigned to the rare position of Receiver of Memories, trained by a mentor (later called The Giver), who telepathically imparts memories of the world before The Ruin. Jonas learns emotions such as love, fear, excitement, loss and the concept of family, but when the planned elimination of a baby named Gabriel, whom he comes to love as a brother, enters his awareness, Jonas decides society needs to change, which the Chief Elder will do anything to stop.


With Phillip, it was actually very interesting. I was asked to come meet him. He was meeting a few composers at the time that they were getting ready to shoot "The Giver." I read a script and I met with him and after talking to him he asked if I could put some ideas together to send him. And I sent him over three ideas. The next thing I know he was off in South Africa shooting, but I heard that I got the job. And the next thing I knew the demo ideas that I had sent over he had actually filmed sequences [with] and had Jeff Bridges learn the music and he had actually filmed the music that I had sent over as a demo in the movie. And it’s in there and he hasn’t changed a note. That was the first time that has happened to me.

S O N Y    C L A S S I C A L   (88875011012)

01. Main Titles (3:07)
02. Jonas Gets the Gig (1:33)
03. Color (2:05)
04. Arriving at the Giver's (1:48)
05. First Memory (1:30)
06. Gabriel Arrives (0:58)
07. Do You See It (0:56)
08. Tray Ride (2:30)
09. Happiness & Pain (2:56)
10. What is Love? (2:21)
11. War (3:20)
12. The Kiss (2:27)
13. Jonas Runs Away (2:52)
14. Accelerated Training (2:40)
15. Escape from the Nursery (2:10)
16. Desert Ride (2:19)
17. Capturing Jonas (3:32)
18. The Mountain and Despair (1:46)
19. Rosebud (4:32)
20. End Credits (3:49) 

Release date: 9 September 2014
Total Time: 50:27
Length of the Score: 84 minutes


Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, iTunes

A T   T H E   M O V I E S   /   M U S I C   O N   V I N Y L   (LP, MOVATM004)

SIDE A: 01. Main Titles (3:07)
02. Jonas Gets the Gig (1:33)
03. Color (2:05)
04. Arriving at the Giver's (1:48)
05. First Memory (1:30)
06. Gabriel Arrives (0:58)
07. Do You See It (0:56)
08. Tray Ride (2:30)
09. Happiness & Pain (2:56)
10. What is Love? (2:21)
11. War (3:20)

SIDE B: 01. The Kiss (2:27)
02. Jonas Runs Away (2:52)
03. Accelerated Training (2:40)
04. Escape from the Nursery (2:10)
05. Desert Ride (2:19)
06. Capturing Jonas (3:32)
07. The Mountain and Despair (1:46)
08. Rosebud (4:32)
09. End Credits (3:49) 

Release date: 24 October 2014
Total Time: 50:27

Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK




Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.