Production Company: La Petite Reine, M6 Films, Remstar, Canal+, TPS Star, 120 Films, Natixis Coficiné, Pathé, Cinémage 2
Distributors: Pathé, Music Box Films, New American Vision & Music Box Films
Release date (France): 19 November 2008

Director: Jean-François Richet
Screenplay: Abdel Raouf Dafri & Jean-François Richet

Music Composed by Marcus Trumpp & Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Dana Niu
Orchestra Conducted by Marco Beltrami
Performed by Paris Symphony Orchestra
Orchestrated by Bill Boston, Rossano Galante, Andrew Kinney, Robert Elhai, Brandon Roberts & Tim Davies
Recorded and Mixed by John Kurlander
Recorded at Studios Guillaume Tell et Omega, Paris
Assistant Engineers Josh Sarles
Music Produced by Marco Beltrami

Synopsis: The story of Jacques Mesrine, France's public enemy No. 1 during the 1970s. After nearly two decades of legendary criminal feats - from multiple bank robberies and to prison breaks.


There was no temp throughout the movie, except for a few spots including the interview which was temped with the cue from The Departed. The director actually wanted to license that cue for the film because he edited the scene with the piece. We gave him a bunch of different ideas, with piano, mandoline and I think accordion as well, but he was just too set on the cue he temped it with. This was really tricky. He finally asked us to get as close as we can - with the guitar and the strings... I was able to base it on the Mesrine theme, put it in 5/8 throughout (which posed big problems for the guitar player...) but stylistically it is based on that cue. I thought it starts out similar but then turns more into an elegy rather than a Western type piece (which I think worked for The Departed...).

H O S T I L E  /  E M I    R E C O R D S  (50999 2655692 5)

01. L'Instinct de Mort (3:17)
02. Jacques Mesrine (3:06)
03. Sale Boulot (2:12)
04. La Mort du Pére (1:14)
05. Le Départ (2:07)
06. Broussard (1:41)
07. Kidnapping de Deslauriers (0:57)
08. En Attendant la Rançon (2:51)
09. En Planque (3:21)
10. Humeur Noire (2:06)
11. Jacques et Janou (1:05)
12. Plans d'Évasion (3:45)
13. L'Armée (1:13)
14. Aveuglé (1:38)
15. Un Plan Diabolique (2:25)
16. Le Livre (0:49)
17. Evasion (3:02)
18. Le Casino de Deauville (1:03)
19. Fusillade dans la Prison (4:50)
20. L'Interview (2:41)
21. Dallier (4:28)
22. Nos Jours sont Comptés (1:51)

23. 2 Novembre 1979 (7:50)
24. Porte de Clignancourt (1:59)
25. Le Prix á Payer (2:27)
Release date: 17 November 2008
Total Time: 63:56
Length of the Score: 68 / 70 minutes

Purchase links: Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon DE




Cyrille Aufort    |      Patrick Doyle    |      Guy Farley    |      Dario Marianelli    |      John Morris    |      Daniel Pemberton    |      Martin Phipps    |      Theodore Shapiro    |      Edward Shearmur    |      Fernando Velázquez    |      Contact

(c) 2005-2020 Website Created and Maintained by Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010. Phase 3 2018. All content is intended for promotional use of the composer only and shouldn't be used without prior consent from its owners.